Daily Prompt: Something so strong

Something So Strong: Tell us the origin story of your best friend. How did you become friends? What is it that keeps your friendship rockin’ after all these years?

The Brothers

I’ve always had the sense that I’m a lone wolf: I enjoy my alone time, am generally reserved, like to work by myself, and tackle any problem by my own strength and knowledge. There is, however, a group of buddies I always look up when I have the chance. I can’t pick out a “best friend” from the bunch, since they all mean different things to me. They’re all special in their own rights, and hanging out with them is always stress-free and enjoyable.

The strength of our friendship is built on the years spent in each other’s company. We all grew up together, and have known each other for over 10 years. We went through school together, studied together, crammed for exams together. Went on adventures together, and shared good times and bad. We’ve given each other courage to try new things and to step out of our comfort zones. Most importantly though, we’ve been stupid together, more often than not. The times we skipped out on class, the times we spent just chillin’ on the couches, the times we spent talking shit during lunch, the times shooting hoops after, before and during class, the times hiding in the grass playing air-soft. We can be weak with each other and still be truthful with each other without judgement.

Although we don’t have as much time to hang out and have a laugh as we used to as young, impressionable idiots, I know that we will always have a hell of a time if we just showed up together to do anything. I’m blessed to know you bunch of scoundrels, and it’s been a blast. Keep on being awesome, guys!

Leave a Reply

