Remembering the sounds of summer

Autumn used to be my favorite time of year. Summer in Hong Kong is hot and humid, and i used to detest it with a passion: I cannot stand the summer heat, and fall brought along clear blue skies free of tropical storms. It was crisp, breezy weather and wonderful. I have grown to love the sunshine since, though: very pleasant memories were made in the heat of summer, and I now associate it with beachy songs that remind me of the times spent by the water. Chilling, relaxing and having a blast.

As a last hurrah, here are the songs that was on my playlist this summer:

Hooked on a Feeling – Blue Swede

Since the first trailer for Guardians of the Galaxy was released, I have had this playing none stop

Island in the Sun – Weezer

A personal favorite, my summer playlist is not complete without this song. The nostalgia is palpable 😀

Bad Suns

I’ve followed this band since they first single, Cardiac Arrest in 2013.  They released their debut album Language & Perspective this summer, and I genuinely enjoy every song on the album.

Nothing More Than Everything to Me – Christopher Owens

A cute little country love song. I especially enjoy those guitar solos.

You’re What I’m Looking For – Rooney

I first heard about Rooney from the tv show The OC, and I rediscovered them in my library this summer.

Leave a Reply

